Man Crush Monday & Man-jewelry

As you can see, I am feeling particularly lovey today. In honour of #MCM (Man Crush Monday) I am going to be really sappy and show off the man in my life. Who is my man-crush every day really, but especially when he let’s me style him.

This photograph was taken before the “Sin or Swim” sunset boat cruise, and after I took him shopping. Our shopping trip was rushed, and somewhat frustrating. Ryan is 6’5″ and very lean, this makes finding clothes difficult, at 5’10” myself, I understand the too-short-pants pain. I also must take credit for his increasingly killer man-jewelry game. Man-jewelry is an art, when done wrong it is cringe-worthy. No one should ever wear a shark tooth, hemp is so 90s-not in the good way, and bling should be reserved only for those gracing the rap charts in my opinion.

Ryan first became open to the idea of man-jewelry at Veld Music Festival this summer when we both fell in love with the unisex line of understated, yet enviable pieces by a local designer called, Vitaly. Vitaly relies on clean lines in a colour palette of gold, silver, rose gold and matte black. It is undeniable that much of Vitaly’s appeal comes from it’s vibe that is reminiscent of David Yurman’s luxury. Ryan bought a simple silver chain bracelet at Veld, which has been so admired, that one of our friends who could afford Yurman offered to buy the bracelet right off of his wrist. When I saw the double chain necklace at Topshop, that was the same chain as his Vitaly bracelet, I knew he had to have it, so I bought it for him.

Below Ryan wears a floral tee (love love love feminine prints made masculine) by Topshop; Urban Outfitters army green tapered cargo pants (without the cargo pockets thank god) that are too short as usual, but luckily the style lends to being above the ankle; brown Nike Air Max sneakers; classic black Ray Ban Wayfarers; silver watch by Michael Kors; cirkel stainless steel bracelet by Vitaly; and silver double chain pendant necklace by Topshop.

IMG_5377.JPG

IMG_5374.JPG

Below, I am squatting, living out the final days of summer drinking vodka on the ground in the sunshine, sporting my outfit of the evening. Black silk open back tank by Tobi; Roxy surf capsule leggings; Sam Edelman snakeskin wedges; my own rose gold Vitaly chain necklace; bangles by Holt Renfrew and Aldo Accessories; snapback by UNIF from Untitled&Co; and sunnies from Pacific Mall (shhhh).

IMG_5378.JPG

One thought on “Man Crush Monday & Man-jewelry

Leave a Reply

