Happy Birthday to My Beautiful Sister

I’ve always said that if I ever had a sister, I would probably kill her. That’s just my competitive nature speaking but BBBs (beyond basic bitches) watch out! Even with my little brother the sports battles were constant and he is happy to be alive, after I pushed him in the water before he could swim. With this level of sibling rivalry at play, I counted my blessings no other girl would ever vie for my parents attention. That being said, as I have matured I’ve gained more blessings in the form of a little brunette sister from Hong Kong, who knows the difference between tassels and fringe. And no, my parents did not go all Brangelina and hop on the adoption trend, but rather I have been lucky enough to have one of my best friends come to live with my family and I any time she visits Canada from HK (which in my opinion is not often enough). She is truly part of the family.

Some sisters try to tear each other down, but Zahra does the opposite. She inspires me to be better, be more, follow my interests and gives me the confidence to do so. I mean when someone this cool–that effortless type of cool you can’t even begin to emulate actually thinks you are worth hanging with it’s quite the ego boost. She is the best stylist you could ever ask for, with killer photography skills and one of the best writers I have ever read. She is always on the cutting edge of what is insanely, blow-your-mind awesome in terms of music and responsible for introducing me to most of my favourite artists and tracks. She is itty bitty, bit also a full on badass and the best compadre to have by your side on a night out. She has saved my life and been there for some of my most scrupulous adventures, but even when we are having the worst luck it is always the best time with her. She moves in fast, powerfully creative circles, but she remains one of the most kind, sweet, considerate and humble people I know. She is a woman on the verge. Unstoppable. Her presence is quickly becoming known in the online magazine world as an authority on the new and now.  Hypebeast and Soy have lost her to CNN, but I know it won’t be long before she is running her own show. She has an incredible eye for bringing people and their talents together. This is her art.

And so today on her birthday, I could not before proud of my little sis who inspires us all to think big.

Her personal blog can be found here.

Photos collectively shot by Zahra Jamshed, Lauren McCormick and yours truly.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

imageimage

Leave a Reply

